Monday, June 29, 2009

Brewers/Braves


I'll be out of computer contact for almost a week, so if anything major happens, I'll comment when I get back. I just hope we atleast take this last one from Pittsburgh! Shut out by Ohlendorf? Wasn't we a WWF wrestler from a long time ago? Todd says Seattle may be interested in Kosuke. Don't know if there's any truth, but man if we could deal him and Bradley that would be a good start!Going into a big series with the Brew Crew. We send out Dempster, Zambrano, and Harden. Here's a look at my lineups and their match-ups over the next few games. This is barring injuries that I won't be able to update. Notice, I want to see Bradley sit vs. righties, but I doubt it!

vs. Seth McClung(R)

LF-Soriano(1-15)-good day for a rest? Maybe lead Fukudome off, play Hoffpauir in left and Bradley(1-2) in RF?
SS-Theriot(2-9)
RF-Hoffpauir(0-1)
1B-Lee(0-5)
3B-Fox
2B-Fontenot(1-5)
CF-Fukudome(4-6)
C-Hill(1-3, HR)


vs. Jeff Suppan(R)
LF-Soriano (.209, 2HR)
SS-Theriot (.421)
RF-Hoffpauir (2-6)
1B-Lee (.447, 4 HR)
3B-Fox
C-Soto (2-8, 2HR)
2B-Fontenot (3-8)
CF-Fukudome(3-8)
*Freel(.385, 3RBI)
*Zambrano is 3-7 vs. Suppan if we need a pinch-hitter!


vs. Braden Looper(R)

LF-Soriano
SS-Theriot
3B-Fox
1B-Lee
RF-Hoffpauir
C-Soto
2B-Fontenot
CF-Fukudome

vs. Mike Burns(R)
LF-Soriano
SS-Theriot
3B-Fox
1B-Lee
RF-Hoffpauir
C-Soto
2B-Fontenot
CF-Fukudome




Sunday, June 28, 2009

The Pittsburgh Series




Well, the Bradley incident has me just about as upset as I could be other than acquiring Pedro! I wish we could just send him home until someone would deal us a minor leaguer that we could send to Iowa and save Bradley's salary! He turns around and K's with a runner on 3rd and 1 out today! Soriano is getting to be a tired act in my opinion too. He can't hit or run, then his baserunning blunder the other day just about did it for me. Now the Cards pick up DeRosa! Why can't we make a deal and show we are in it and change some of this momentum? I loved Freel's reaction to being hit though. He moved way up on my list. Atleast we are playing the Pirates now. We send out Harden, Lilly, and Wells. Here are the match-ups and not necessarily how I want the lineup seeing I want Bradley out and Soriano not leading off!

vs. Zach Duke (L)

LF-Soriano(.517, 2 HR)
SS-Theriot
3B-Fox
1B-Lee(10-37, HR)
RF-Bradley(3-7)
C-Soto(3-15)
CF-Freel(4-10)
2B-Miles(.385)

vs. Ross Ohlendorf(R)

LF-Soriano
SS-Theriot
3B-Fox
1B-Lee
RF-Hoffpauir
C-Soto
CF-Fukudome
2B-Fontenot

vs. Virgil Vazquez (R)

LF-Soriano
SS-Theriot
3B-Fox
1B-Lee
RF-Hoffpauir
2B-Fontenot
CF-Fukudome
C-Hill

Thursday, June 25, 2009

Cross Town Rivalry Revisited


Once again frustrated, but I like the DH allowing us to see more Hoffpauir and Fox. I know some of you disagree with this, but they need to be in the lineup or traded. They will be future studs if we get rif of them guaranteed! I wish we could get rid of Bradley and that would take care of one of them. Don't know how we can get Fox in the lineup after Ramirez comes back. I wouldn't even be upset to see them deal Soriano for a stud CF, 2B, closer, or combo of the three at this point. I know it's not going to happen, but I almost like Hoffpauir more than Soriano at this point. When are we going to make a trade? Here's a look at the pitching match-ups and their careers vs. Sox pitchers. I guess with Johnson being the latest casualty, we have to play Kosuke vs. 2 lefties? Maybe Freel? Ouch!

vs. Jose Contreras(R)

LF-Soriano(5-8, 3HR)
SS-Theriot(0-1)
RF-Hoffpauir
1B-Lee(3-16)
DH-Bradley(4-12, HR)
3B-Fontenot(4-8, 2HR)
CF-Fukudome(2-5)
C-Soto(2-5, HR)
2B-Blanco(0-9)

vs. Mark Buehrle(L)

LF-Soriano(.207, 2HR)
SS-Theriot(1-7)
3B-Fox
1B-Lee(.455, HR)
RF-Bradley(.325)
C-Soto(1-3)
DH-Hoffpauir
CF-Fukudome(1-4)
2B-Miles(1-3)

vs. John Danks(L)

LF-Soriano
SS-Theriot(2-6)
DH-Fox
1B-Lee(1-5)
RF-Bradley(3-6, HR)
C-Hill
3B-Freel
CF-Fukudome(2-3)
2B-Miles(1-3)

Sunday, June 21, 2009

The Detroit Series (and the Braves)


Congrats to Randy Wells, finally getting a win! 8 starts with a 2.57 ERA and a 1-3 record. I'd be pissed! I'm not too happy with a one game series in Atlanta vs. Vazquez, but since I am a big fan of Hoffpauir and Fox, and they seem to be swinging the bat pretty well, I'm excited to have the DH for the Detroit series. I'm just amazed that Guzman and Johnson also manage to be hurt. When are the injuries going to stop? I guess Ramirez will actually be back pretty soon, then watch out! Lee is back big time and Soto is showing signs of life. Bradley is an idiot, but he's starting to hit a little. Still say we have too much talent and too many immediate needs to not make a deal! I'm moving on without the picture of the hot Cubs fan because we seem to be coming out of it. Just let me know when you think we need it again. Anyway, here are my proposed lineups and their careers against Tigers pitchers(and the Braves). The first 2 Tigers pitchers may not be very good for our bats! Look at the ERAs!

vs. Javier Vazquez(R)

SS-Theriot(3-9)
CF-Fukudome
LF-Soriano(2-9, HR)
1B-Lee(20-50 (.400) 3 HR)
RF-Hoffpauir (Bradley 3-18)
C-Hill (Soto 0-5)
3B-Fontenot(2-5)
2B-Miles(2-5)

vs. Edwin Jackson(R)(2.39ERA)

SS-Theriot
CF-Fukudome
LF-Soriano(0-1)
1B-Lee
DH-Bradley
RF-Hoffpauir
C-Soto
3B-Fontenot
2B-Miles(3-7)

vs. Rick Porcello(R)(3.54 ERA)

SS-Theriot
CF-Fukudome
LF-Soriano
1B-Lee
DH-Bradley
RF-Hoffpauir
C-Hill
3B-Fontenot
2B-Blanco

vs. Armando Galarraga(R)(5.62 ERA)

SS-Theriot
CF-Fukudome
LF-Soriano
1B-Lee
DH-Bradley
RF-Hoffpauir
C-Soto
3B-Fontenot
2B-Miles

Thursday, June 18, 2009

Hey Chicago Whatta Ya Say!?


Man I love that song! I think if Harry were alive, this season might kill him! I was thinking as down as most of us are about the Cubs right now I'd atleast post a picture of one of my favorite Cub fans to give us something to smile about. Unlike Dell, I am not willing to agree that we leave Soriano in the leadoff spot. He's now 13th on the team in OB %. He leads the team in HRs and RBIs. I'm going to go nuts if I see Fontenot start at 3B vs. a lefty again. He's now 4-33 vs. lefties. Atleast play Fox there. Who cares if he's a liability in the field? Fontenot is far from a great glove there. Fox might actually get a hit! We need to make a trade...NOW! Get us a power hitting CF, a righthanded hitting 2B, or bullpen help. DeRosa might help the 2B and short-term 3B problem. The Indians series: We send out Harden, Lilly, and Wells. That is usually not the problem. This is my proposed lineups and their careers vs. Indians pitchers:

vs. Cliff Lee(L)-please please tell me they aren't going to start Fontenot who is now 4-33 vs. lefties!
SS-Theriot

CF-Johnson(2-5)
LF-Soriano(3-8, HR)
1B-Lee
RF-Bradley(2-9, HR)
C-Soto
3B-Fox
2B-Miles(1-3)

vs. Tomo Ohka(R)

SS-Theriot
CF-Fukudome
LF-Soriano(2-2)
1B-Lee(7-20 (.350) 3 HR)
RF-Hoffpauir
3B-Fontenot
C-Hill(0-3)
2B-Miles(0-2)

vs. Jeremy Sowers(L)

SS-Theriot
CF-Johnson
LF-Soriano
1B-Lee
RF-Bradley
C-Soto
3B-Fox
2B-Miles


Sunday, June 14, 2009

Cross Town Rivalry


Well, now we head to the cross town rivalry. It totally kills me that Fontenot is now our only option at 3B. He'll pretty much have to go against lefty Danks in game 1. He's like 4-104 vs. lefties. So we give his out away along with the pitcher spot without even a fight! Glad we sent Scales and Fox down! I really wish Lou would bat Z 6th. He's got a better chance of getting a hit than Miles or Fontenot! We send out Big Z(coming off a great start), Wells (coming off his worst), and Dempster. Here's a look at the Sox pitchers, my proposed lineups and their careers against them:

vs. John Danks(L)
LF-Soriano
SS-Theriot(1-3)
CF-Johnson
1B-Lee(0-2)
RF-Bradley(1-3, HR)
C-Soto(1-2)
P-Zambrano
2B-Miles
3B-Fontenot



vs. Gavin Floyd(R)



LF-Soriano(1-4)
SS-Theriot
CF-Fukudome
1B-Lee
RF-Hoffpauir
3B-Fontenot
C-Hill
2B-Miles



vs. Jose Contreras(R)

LF-Soriano(5-8, 3HR)
SS-Miles(0-4)
CF-Fukudome(2-5)
1B-Hoffpauir (Lee 3-16)
RF-Bradley(4-12, HR)
3B-Fontenot(4-8, 2HR)
C-Soto(2-5, HR)
2B-Blanco





Thursday, June 11, 2009

Where Have The Bats Gone?


Frustrating series vs. Houston. We get great starting pitching and drop 2 one run games. Every time we're in a close game down the stretch it just feels obvious we won't win. Anyone else feel that way? It's like sometimes we can't hit, but get great pitching. Sometimes we hit and have no pitching. We just can't put it together. Unbelievable that we're still only 2.5 out. The Brewers lost again today. It's so painful, but I still say if we manage to be 3-4 games out at the break, we add Ramirez, make a trade, and we can definitely do it. I'm waiting on you guys to give me comments on people we might trade for. I think a closer and a 2B are galring needs. I'm also waiting to hear theories on who we trade. Fox and Hoffpauir are just too good to not be starting. We apparently have a C and RF tearing it up in Iowa too. I suppose Marshall becomes trade bait with Harden back too? Anyway, now we play at home vs. Minnesota. Slowey opens up and he's 8-2. We send out Wells(who has a sparkling ERA and nothing to show for it), Harden makes his comeback start, and Lilly. Here's a look at my proposed lineups:

vs. Kevin Slowey(R)
LF-Soriano
SS-Theriot
CF-Fukudome
1B-Lee
RF-Bradley(2-3 vs. Slowey)
3B-Fontenot
C-Soto
2B-Miles

vs. Anthony Swarzak(R)
LF-Soriano
SS-Theriot
CF-Fukudome
1B-Lee
RF-Bradley
3B-Fontenot
C-Hill
2B-Scales

vs. Scott Baker(R)
LF-Soriano
SS-Theriot
CF-Fukudome
1B-Lee
RF-Bradley(2-6 vs. Baker)
3B-Fontenot
C-Soto
2B-Miles